Latest news

Mike Barnard makes a welcome return for Shropshire's opening game of the new season

Shrewsbury opening bowler Mike Barnard, pictured, will make a…

Skipper Steve Leach seeking a winning start to Shropshire's season at Whitchurch

Skipper Steve Leach is confident Shropshire have the squad in…

Shropshire delighted to complete signing of Alexei Kervezee

Shropshire have signed former Worcestershire star Alexei Kervezee…

Shropshire's pre-season game with Worcestershire's second team a victim of the weather

Shropshire’s scheduled opening pre-season game with Worcestershire’s…

About Shropshire County Cricket Club

On 28th June 1956 the members of Shropshire Cricket Association took the bold, but not unexpected, decision to disband their own organisation and to establish in its place a County Cricket Club which would apply for entry to the Minor Counties Championship the following season.

The Association had itself been founded less than six years earlier with exactly this aim in mind, intended to restore the cricketing status that had been lost when the original County Club, although quickly re-formed as The Gentlemen of Shropshire CC, was wound up in 1905.

Today Shropshire County Cricket Club competes in the Western Division of the Minor Counties Cricket Association (MCCA) Championship. The division, made up of nine teams sees each team play six three day fixtures over the course of the season with each team completing home and away fixtures against each side every three years. Shropshire have won the Championship on one occasion in 1973 and the one day knockout trophy in 2010.

Get in touch

Shropshire County Cricket Club, c/o TSR House, Brassey Rd, Old Potts Way, Shrewsbury, SY3 7FA

Minor Counties Knockout Trophy Winners 2010

Shropshire CCC v Lincolnshire
11 August 2010, Emirates Chester-le-Street

Minor Counties Knockout Trophy Winners 2010